“Sunshine List” out, 17 Amherstburg staff members on it


By Ron Giofu


The Sunshine List is out and there are 17 people paid by the town of Amherstburg that made it.

The list, which shows public sector employees that earn over $100,000 per year, had 14 of the 17 local members on it come from the Amherstburg Police Service. Three are town administration, including the recently resigned chief administrative officer (CAO) Pamela Malott, who has been off on medical leave since early last year.

The salaries are their earnings for 2012 and are provided via the Ontario Ministry of Finance.

Police Chief Tim Berthiaume tops the list with his salary being roughly $137,500. Deputy Chief Pat Palumbo earned $127,500 last year while Det. Sgt. Don Brown had a 2012 salary of approximately $123,471.

Malott had a 2012 salary listed at almost $122,076. Acting CAO Kristina Pozar DiPaolo confirmed the majority of Malott’s salary had been paid for by insurance. DiPaolo did not make the Sunshine List.

Former Sgt. Colleen Sterling, who resigned as part of a settlement stemming from a Police Services Act hearing last year, was listed as having a 2012 salary of $121,336.

Director of engineering and infrastructure Lou Zarlenga earned $116,281 last year while Sgt. Scott Riddell earned a salary of roughly $114,689. Sgt. Matt Capel-Cure earned a 2012 salary of approximately $114,082.

Sgt. Mike Cox earned $107,276 last year while Sr. Const. Dave Bohdal had a 2012 salary listed at roughly $105,756. Sr. Const. Fred Adair earned roughly $103,935 a year ago while Sr. Const. Margaret O’Brien earned approximately $102,879. Sr. Const. Rocco Pelaccia had a 2012 salary listed as roughly $102,160.

Town Logo Small-web Others from Amherstburg on the list include Sgt. Jim Saxon at approximately $101,400, treasurer Paul Beneteau at almost $101,254, Sr. Const. Nathan Harris at roughly $101,223 and Sr. Const. Viktor Burany at roughly $100,074.

The County of Essex had 19 of its staff members crack the Sunshine List for 2012, many coming from EMS. Topping the county’s list, however, was CAO Brian Gregg, who earned $148,781 a year ago. Director of corporate services and treasurer Rob Maisonville earned $122,959 while county engineer Tom Bateman earned roughly $122,749 last year.

Sun Parlour Home administrator Bill MacDonald earned nearly $122,721 last year while Essex-Windsor EMS Chief Randy Mellow’s 2012 salary was listed at $122,569. Chris Grant, EMS deputy chief, earned $118,313 while human resources director Greg Schlosser’s 2012 salary has been listed at roughly $116,911.

EMS district chief Tyson Brohman earned $112,248 in 2012 while fellow district EMS chief Denis McFarlane earned roughly $111,538 a year ago. Other EMS district chiefs on the list include Sarah Bezaire at $111,295, Michael Jacobs at $109,425, Clayton Massender at $108,109, John Rutgers at $107,941, Joe Nardone at $107,580, Shawn Davis at $117,071, and John Fast at $103,655.

EMS deputy chief Dean Wilkinson earned $106,791 in 2012 while director of council services and clerk Mary Brennan earned roughly $106,124 last year. Registered nurse Kathryn Knox had her 2012 salary listed as $102,682.

Several local officials from the Greater Essex County District School Board made the list as well. General Amherst


See LIST on Page 16


Continued from Page 2


principal Hazel Keefner, who assumed those duties in September, earned roughly $129,230 last year while her predecessor at Amherst, current Riverside principal Mary Edwards, earned $130,212. Vice principal Jon Proctor’s 2012 salary was listed at approximately $121,494.

Western Secondary School principal Bob Colak earned $129,774 last year while vice-principals Christine Walls and Theresa Williams earned roughly $113,721 and $113,897 respectively.

Amherstburg Public School principal Barb Chevalier earned $121,167 last year while vice-principal John Hoy earned $105,604. Anderdon Public School principal Kerry Green-Duren earned approximately $118,807 while vice-principal Anne Beneteau earned $102,199. Malden Central Public School principal Cheryl Barber earned $122,129.

Windsor-Essex Catholic District School Board figures show, amongst local figures, that St. Thomas of Villanova Secondary School principal Pat Hickson earned roughly $122,468 last year while vice-principals Jeremy Schiller, Danielle Koloff and David LaBute earned $104,718, $111,020 and $110,808 respectively.

Lee Ann Poisson, principal at St. Bernard School, earned $110,530 while colleague Doris Baggio at St. Joseph School in River Canard earned roughly $118,474 last year. St. Joseph vice-principal Mike Pannunzio, who was principal at St. Theresa School up until it closed last summer, earned roughly $118,203 in 2012. Bridget Russo, principal at Stella Maris School, was listed as making $118,465 last year.

Nicole Larocque, principal of Ecole St-Jean Baptiste, earned roughly $111,303 last year.

Comments are closed.