Amherstburg Minor Hockey Association ends season with awards banquet


By Joel Charron

The Amherstburg Minor Hockey Association (AMHA) put their 2011-2012 season to bed with its annual travel award banquet last Thursday night.

Travel hockey players and their families packed the Verdi Club for the annual event. Awards were presented to players at all levels of minor hockey.

In the novice major travel division, Spencer Morin won the Bruno Casanova Award for outstanding effort throughout the playing season. The Kevin McDonough Award was presented at both the atom minor and atom major levels with Aaron Brush honored at the atom minor level and Trent Kelly honored at the atom major level.

At the peewee minor level, Colton Taylor won the Mark Whitehead Award. The award signifies outstanding effort throughout the playing season.

The Danny Pietrangelo Award, which also honors outstanding effort throughout the season, was awarded to bantam minor player Reid Thrasher. At the bantam major level, Jordan Bastien won the Bill Jones Award, awarded to the player who shows positive attitude and gives 100 per cent in practices and games.

Two awards were handed out at the midget minor level. Sean Santarossa picked up the Jimmy Brooks Award for outstanding defensive play throughout the playing season while teammate Anthony Cristofaro took home the Michael Bastien Award, which was given for outstanding dedication to hockey throughout the playing season.

The Jimmy Brooks Awards was also awarded at the major level. Tyler Morand and Dan Bondy both picked that honour.

For outstanding dedication to hockey, at the midget major level the Randy Oakes Award was given to Dean Shepley and Frank Desjardins.

At the juvenile level, Jeff Parker was named most dedicated player while Curtis Ficociello was named best defenseman.

The AMHA’s coach of the year was bantam minor coach Bob Mathieson while Ted Jacob of the midget major team was named trainer of the year. Julie Laing won the travel team manager of the year while Paul Tonietto captured the Terry Fox Award.

Comments are closed.